I’m Back with Raw Ice Cream Mini Bars!

Well after a long break from blogging and focusing on school, I am back and ready to share lots of yummy recipes with ya’ll. I have been just-a-baking/cooking-away lately and have racked up a TON of new recipes share. Don’t worry I endure the difficult task of taste testing all these recipes for you and assure there yumminess (I promise I’m not 5 even though I use words like tummy and yummy on a regular basis). There is a good mix of healthy snacks, desserts, entrees and sides along with some decadent indulgences coming yall’s way! I have to include all the decadent indulgences, what kind of Southern Lady would I be if I excluded this vital food group! You have been warned…

 In other news you are officially reading the blog of a full on pastry chef! At least that’s my title; I still have a long way to go to earn the title and respect of a chef title, but let me tell you how freaking excited I am! This place is amazing and combines everything I love in food: Healthy, baking, gluten free and vegan options, decadent deserts and did I mention…MY DESSERTS ARE ON THE MENU! Eeek! I love the fact I can actually tell yall to come on out to A Little Bit of Heaven in Roswell and buy some of my original creations!!

Not going to lie, it is a little intimidation to be a pastry chef. There’s a lot of math with purchasing, costing out recipes, and determining in-stock ingredients, and if you weren’t aware I slightly suck at math. I mean I got the basic add, subtract, multiply, and divide down to an art but the headache that comes with it, is way to intense. I also am now in charge of baking schedules and ALL production of baked goods including breads. Now bread and I don’t always get a long in the kitchen (eating yes, baking no) however, I have come up with some pretty awesome gluten free and even Paleo recipes with no proofing and kneading required (music to my ears)! Not to mention all the pitas and tortillas, my favorite being the almond tortillas (it would be pitas but I’m trying to ignore them till after lent since I gave them up), that I get to make now. Even though I feel like a total grown up and have a lot on my plate with this job and finishing up my last year of culinary school, I still can’t stop smiling, jumping up and down, and realizing that all this hard freaking work has not been for nothing!

Now to the reason you’re here…Raw Ice Cream Mini Bars. These things are so silky and just the perfect balance of salty and sweet. Plus you don’t have to feel guilty for eating them since they are low calorie, low carb, high-protein, full of good fats, low sodium, dairy, egg, soy, and gluten free. Okay you might be thinking what’s left to make them so yummy if they are everything free? Well…. there are LOTS of healthy alternatives in this recipe that not only make you feel amazing, but are also the perfect fix to any sweet tooth craving. Don’t just take my word on it though. I’ll let you make these treats and bask in the glory of mini healthy ice cream bars to see for yourself. SO bust out that food process and enjoy!

ImageImage

Raw Ice Cream Mini Bars:

{Yields 1-9×5 pan}

 Ingredients:

 Base –

  • 1 cup of pitted dates (make sure they are pitted! The first time I forgot to pit the dates and lets just say in the fight with my food processor…. neither of us won)
  • ½ cup almonds, raw, unsalted
  • ¼ cup walnuts, raw, no shell
  • ⅛ cup pecans, raw, no shell
  • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

 Ice cream topping –

  • 2-3 ripe bananas
  • ¼ cup natural almond butter, creamy or chunky (you process it so it doesn’t matter)
  • ¼ cup more unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsp. pure maple syrup
  • ½ tsp. ground cinnamon

 Directions:

  1. Put dates in a bowl with warm water and allow them to soak for 30 minutes, then drain. This will allow the dates to become soft so they will mix much easier in the processor.
  2. In the bowl of your food processor place your soaked dates, almonds, walnuts, pecans, and ¼ cup cocoa powder. Blend until all combined.
  3. Line a 9×5-baking pan with parchment paper (wax paper is okay as well).
  4. Spread mixture into your prepared baking dish. Press down on the mixture to make sure it is evenly distributed. I just went in with my hands. BEST TOOLS THERE ARE!
  5. Back to the food processor: Mix together your bananas, almond butter, maple syrup, cinnamon, and the other ¼ cup cocoa powder until well blended. If you like the taste of banana, A LOT, like me you can add three, if not stick with the 2 it still has a very nice banana flavor. TIP TIME: if your bananas are slightly frozen the mixture will spread nicely and set up quicker.
  6. Spread your banana mixture over the bottom layer until evenly distributed. Place in freezer for 45 minutes.
  7. Once completely set up, cut into 32 squares for mini bites or 16 squares if you want more than just a bite.
  8. Re-freeze whatever you don’t eat (but if your like me there wont be!).

Enjoy 🙂 

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

