PIZZA! Vegan and Gluten Free BBQ Pizza that is!

To say my life is crazy and jam packed from the time I wake up to the time I finally crash into my bed at night would be an understatement! Honestly, that’s the way I like it! I feel as though I’m actually productive and living every day to the fullest when I am constantly running from one thing to another. Now some people will call me crazy and say I need to take a break, breathe, and not do so much at once, but where is the fun in that? I like to see how much I can get done while running around like a chicken with my head cut off! I especially like to test myself to come up with quick, healthy, and filling meals that I can work on while finishing all my work at home.

Lately I have been on a pizza fix. With everything I have going on I needed a little extra carb boost in my diet, and what better way to get that fix than making pizza! Now don’t get me wrong, Soup-A-Palooza is still in full swing (I have made so many chili’s I’m starting to think I might turn into chili) and I will be posting a few more of those very soon!  Till then it’s PIZZA TIME!

As you know I have multiple food allergies and the typical pizza is just not going to happen. This posed to be a bit of an obstacle when I need to fix me, my brother and mama a pizza that we could all eat! My Mama and brother are pretty lucky and can eat all the gluten, eggs, dairy, and meat their little heart’s desire, and these full allergen foods are something they typically crave. So my solution to an allergen free pizza that will curb any gluten lover’s taste buds? A BBQ Gluten-Free and Vegan Pizza!

This pizza was a huge hit and satisfied everybody’s taste buds!

I started out by using a Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free and Dairy Free Pizza Crust Mix. Now to create the dough the recipe called for oil and eggs. Clearly I can’t have eggs so I used a flax egg (In this case I used 2 TBSP ground flax seed and mixed it with 6 TBSP water. I mixed up the flax egg and let it congeal till I was ready to incorporate it into the dough). For the oil required in the recipe I used Virgin Coconut Oil. I don’t have anything against EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil) per say but if I can, I always use Virgin Coconut Oil. It has so many positive health benefits and has healthy fats that are essential to your body! Once the dough was formed and set to rise the fun part began!

I decided to use a BBQ sauce as a base for my pizza. I mean 1. I live in the South and BBQ sauce is like ketchup…we put it on EVERYTHING, and 2. I was a little bored with the typical red pizza sauce. Sometimes you just need to spice things up J

For my third of the pizza (and my Mama’s third) I caramelized red onions on the flat top with salt, pepper, and a little of the BBQ sauce to carry the flavor throughout the pizza. I then grated 2 oz.’s of Almond Mozzarella “cheese” and chopped up 2 cups of fresh spinach.

Now before you dismiss my BBQ pizza think about it, what are the things (besides the pork) that make a good BBQ sandwich? You have your bread, sauce, onions, and in the case of the dairy (or fake dairy) lover, cheese! This pizza has exactly that! It really is like an open faced BBQ sandwich!

Since my Mama and brother and hard core meat lovers, I topped it with turkey pepperoni, and also added spicy chicken as the meat base on my brother’s side.

This pizza really did satisfy everybody’s taste buds and allowed allergen free and allergen full to enjoy a meal together!

                      

Image 

BBQ Pizza – 

Ingredients:

Crust:

1 PACKAGE Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free and Dairy Free Pizza Crust Mix*

2 TBSP Coconut Oil (melted)

2 TBSP Ground Flax Seed + 6 TBSP water

1 ½ CUPS Warm water for yeast activation

 

Allergen Free (minus nut):

½ Large Red Onion – Julienned

2 Cups Spinach (washed, dried, and chopped)

2 OZ’s Mozzarella Style Almond Shred Cheese (Lisanatti)

½ CUP Stubbs Original BBQ** (this will cover the ENTIRE pizza crust)

 

For the Meat & Cheese Lovers:

Turkey Pepperoni (enough to cover ½)

Spicy Chicken Sandwich Meat cut into strips (enough to cover ½)

Mozzarella Cheese 4-5 OZ’s

 

*I used the whole package a make a LARGE pizza. Feel free to use your own Gluten Free/Vegan crust if you prefer. This was just a quick and easy weeknight meal so the package dough mixed worked the best.

**You can use more or less sauce depending on how much you like on your crust.

Directions:

Prepare crust using Bob’s Red Mill Gluten and Dairy Free Pizza Crust Mix, coconut oil, and two flax eggs.

Using non-stick olive oil spray, spray your entire flat top (or skillet, which ever you have on hand). Once you have sliced you red onion (julienned onions work best for this pizza), lay them in an even layer on the prepared flat top. Cook your onions over medium to medium high heat until soft and fragrant. Add your salt, pepper, and BBQ sauce now. Remove the onions from the heat, grate your cheese, wash and chop your spinach, and get all other ingredients for your pizza ready to go.

Once your dough has risen, place the ball on a sprayed piece of parchment paper and work into the shape and thickness desired for your pizza. Slide the parchment and dough into your preheated over and prebake your crust. I did it the max recommended time (and honestly next time I will pre bake it longer so the middle gets nice a crispy).

Remove the pizza and start to add your sauce and toppings.

Place the pizza back in the oven and finish the cooking process.

All that’s left now is to remove the pizza from the oven. Slice and enjoy your AMAZING creation!

Leave a Reply

