Belated Thanksgiving Meatless Meatloaf

HAPPY BELATED THANKSGIVING YA’LL!

 

Thanksgiving is honestly one of my favorite holidays (along with Christmas and Halloween, and of course Valentine’s day and Fourth of July…okay I really just love the holiday’s but Thanksgiving is at the top of the list!).  I love the family gatherings, good company, and the fact the entire holiday is based on the production and consumption of massive amounts of food. This is the one time a year it is totally acceptable to stuff your face without judgment. I mean the Pilgrims were celebrating the abundance of the harvest so why shouldn’t we celebrate what we are thankful for and the stuffing our faces? Honestly, how is this day not everybody’s favorite holiday?!?!

Sadly, this year I was only able to participate in one aspect of the traditional Thanksgiving…the food. With my entire family sick in bed we had to cancel our annual see how much food you can eat in an evening get together. Needless to say, I was somewhat out-of-sorts not having to cook for what seems like a million people. Just because Thanksgiving was canceled didn’t mean I wasn’t going to cook for me though! So what was on the menu you ask?

DESSERTS, DESSERTS, DESSERTS, AND MORE DESSERTS!

Can you tell I like desserts?

 I made my Vegan and Gluten-Free: Apple, Pumpkin and Mixed Berry pies with my “there’s no way this is Vegan and Gluten-Free” pie crust (needless to say it’s a huge hit with non-Vegan’s and non-GFer’s). Oh goodness how could I forget the cakes! There were chocolate cakes, vanilla cakes, and buttercream from days! Don’t worry, some of these were for clients but large majorities were for me to keep the Thanksgiving traditions!

       BootScootinBakery_Fall_-58-2870177369-O

BootScootinBakery_Fall_-59-2870182501-O

BootScootinBakery_Fall_-61-2870181319-O

{These are mini pumpkin pies that I will be selling on my online bakery very soon! I made a few of these little babies along with larger versions for my customers…either way its pumpkin pie and delicious!}

I did wonder into the field of normal foods and made a delicious and fairly simple Meatless Meatloaf that had me going back for seconds and thirds! Now don’t let the word loaf turn you away from this delicious treat. It’s full of veggies, protein, and made the entire house smell as though my mama was making her famous Southern Christmas Dressing! Overall: total success! The original Recipe came from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen. I love this site and get a ton of inspiration for my own Vegan treats from here! Hope ya’ll love this as much as I did/still do (I will be eating leftovers for at least a week, not that I’m complaining just informing!)

BootScootinBakery_Fall_-8-2870065462-O

Now the recipes calls for tofu, but if you are also *soy free there are simple substitutions to suite your own needs!

Thanksgiving Meatless Loaf

Ingredients:

1 medium sweet potato

1 medium Vidalia onion

2 ribs celery

1 large carrot

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 15-ounce can cannellini beans (any beans will work perfectly fine to be honest!), drained and rinsed. I used

fresh beans that soaked overnight, drained, rinsed, and cooked before I start my prep work for the loaf.

14 ounces extra-firm tofu (one 14 to 16-ounce package)

2 TBSP Gluten-Free soy sauce

2 TBSP tomato paste

1 TBSP spicy brown or whole-grain prepared mustard

¼ CUP fresh parsley, chopped (if you do not have fresh dry will work just fine. Make sure decrease the

amount if using dried (1 ½ tbsp.)

1 TBSP rubbed sage + 1 TBSP for cooked veggies

1 TBSP dried thyme

½ TBSP dried rosemary

1 ½ tsp salt

½ tsp black pepper

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

½ cup chopped walnuts. These are optional, however, the more

nuts the better in my opinion

¼ CUPS unsalted raw almonds

¾ CUP quinoa flakes, quick oatmeal, or any quick cooking hot cereal/grain.

EVOO for skillet

Instructions:

  1. Wash a medium sweet potato (about 7 ounces), pierce it several times with a fork, wrap in aluminum foil and cook until fort tender 45-60 mins (cook times depends on size of potato). Allow the potato to cool just enough to handle and then peel and set aside.
  2. Mince the onion, celery, and carrot.
  3. Heat a large skillet with a small amount of EVOO over medium-high heat. Add the minced vegetables, including garlic, and cook, stirring regularly, until they become tender, about 6-10 minutes. Once they’re softened, add the drained beans and mash them lightly with a slotted spoon or spatula. Season with TBSP of sage, stir, remove from heat, and set aside.
  4. Place the peeled sweet potato into the food processor along with the tofu, soy sauce, and all seasonings and nutritional yeast. Process until fairly smooth. Add the walnuts and almonds and pulse a few more times. Scrape the tofu mixture into a large mixing bowl and add the quinoa flakes (or any other quick cooking grain) and the cooked vegetables. Stir well.
  5. Preheat oven to 375F. If you have a silicone-baking mat (recommended) place it on a baking sheet. Otherwise line the baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with non-stick spray. Spoon the tofu mixture onto the prepared baking surface, using dampened hands to shape it into an oblong or oval loaf about 2 1/2 inches high. Bake for 25 minutes or until the top is evenly browned. Loosely cover with aluminum foil and cook for 20 more minutes. Check to make sure that the center is firm; if not, give it a little extra time. (You can also remove the foil and cook for 5 more minutes for a crunchier crust.) Remove from oven and allow the roast to rest for at least 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

Now this dish is absolutely delicious alone but nothing makes a meatloaf better than a decedent sauce or gravy. I made Mushroom Gravy to top mine, but you can use whatever you like!

Preparation time: 20 minute(s) | Cooking time: 1 hour(s) 5 minute(s)

Number of servings: 8 | Yield: about 16 slices

*To make this soy free I added 14 ounces of mixed cooked beans instead of the tofu. The beans retained the same texture as the tofu once processed in the food processor.

Leave a Reply

